Seeing the T.A.G. Expo – Paris, Grand Palais

April 11, 2009 at 7:07 pm 7 comments

Ok so I went to visit the expo and I can say it was not what I expected, but hey that doesn’t mean it was all crap.

When you come to the place the setting is amazing. It is THE Grand Palais in Paris, off the between Alexandre III Bridge and the Champs Elysees. Some of the most amazing architecture in France is in that area. I could ramble about it but the picture will explain better.

I thought it would be pictures of great pieces and a wide variety of graffiti types. Actually I thought this would be a sort of overview on graffiti. As the name T.A.G means Tag and Graffiti, however that isn’t what it is. It is a collection of graffiti by a variety of artists that Alain-Dominique Gallizia has managed to collect. There are some big names in there such as PhaseII and others. Gallizia basically contacted the artists and had them do a standard size piece for him on a theme.

My objection to this is that as it is done on a canvas in a workshop the quality should be 100%, the point is that it’s got to communicate. That’s probably why I like stencils so much (and to my disappointment there wasn’t a single stencil in the whole expo).

[addition]

I re-read my post and thought I would ad this (after the amazing comment from gmozz22) and want to make sure my post is somewhat objective.
1. If you like spray pieces then this is the expo for you. It has many many different styles – of the spray variety.
2. I would have preferred the pieces to be bigger as I felt they didn’t convey what a full graffiti piece is, but I understand it makes it difficult to transport.
3. What I didn’t know when looking up the expo on the net is that it is litterally two large wall panels of same-sized graffiti canvas’ – the entrance fee is 5 EUR which is about half the price of a normal expo.

Voila, now that was my view and up to you to make your own.

[;-]

Added: Lisa Forman (lisaforman.com) sent me a link to the photos she took when seeing the expo which I am publishing here (they are a lot better than mine) enjoy them http://lisaforman.zenfolio.com/p761974343

Entry filed under: art, art on walls, font usage, graffiti, graffitti, lettering usage, paris, photo, pictures on walls, stencil art, stencil graffiti, street art, tagging, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Going to visit the Graffiti expo in Paris New Giant graffiti from Ludo’s Nature’s Revenge series

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WESSIDE - TIL - I - DIE  |  April 12, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    my sincerest apologies that A) you weren’t blessed with an aesthetic eye and B) you weren’t blessed with the ability to express yourself in prose. it’s apparent that you whizzed through the TAG exhibition expecting a 2nd grade kiddie stencil lesson a la Color Me Mine. graffiti isn’t about stenciling nor does it matter where the graffiti appears – a canvas, the side of a bullet train, or on the back of your terminally-miscast-as-a-blogger-ass. it is a passion, a life force, and a mode of aesthetic expression that, like the great MC’s, was born of the FREESTYLE and whose inherent genius has clearly passed you by because, quite simply, you lack the critical eye and the intellectual depth to absorb anything that doesn’t immediately appeal to your low and degraded standard of “art” – a pre-formed geometric shape that your pet rat could spray in if he pressed his greedy little claws down hard enough on the can. and just to reiterate – it’s your pet rat that has this talent – not you.

    ASH, BO 130, CREEZ, PHASE 2, RAMMELLZZEE, RIFF 170, SEEN – ALL STENCILS BABY. Dumb and blind – what a treat it must be to be YOU.

    and i beg you, please stop writing. your sloppy grammar, rambling rhetoric, vapid and superficial analysis, and unwarranted opinions are an offense to those of us with SKILLZ TO PAY THE BILLZ.

    your blog is junk.

    somewhere there is a mcdonald’s with a happy meal that has your name tag all over it. if you get lucky there just might be a toy inside.

    and since you love it so much, here’s some stencil for you http://farm1.static.flickr.com/22/26444795_159adca36d.jpg?v=0

    PEACE, PRETENDER!

    Reply
    • 2. marcozna  |  April 13, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      Hi gmozz22

      Wow what a reply – didn’t expect that. Hm never said the exhibit was crap, just wasn’t what I expected. Probably was over marketed by the PR people. Graffiti as a passion and lifeforce – OK I think you are overdoing it. Sure it’s a passion but lifeforce. Really I think you are pushing it.

      Hey I never claimed I was a great graffiti artist – I just said I did some. You however seem to be a great graffiti artist, post some links to your stuff. Wow didn’t know one could pay one’s bills with graffiti – please elaborate.

      My point on it being canvas is just that a graffiti done on the run requires much more technical skill than that done on canvas. On canvas one has all the time to make it perfect. Like a sketch before doing a piece, it is almost always better than reality because one has all the time to work it out.

      I have to admit when I went to the expo, I wondered how it would be, if it would be pictures of great pieces or pieces themselves. It turned out it was a series of several hundred pieces of the same size lined up one against the other. I guess I should have informed myself before.

      But hey, if you have another viewpoint on the expo go ahead and write it. I am definitely interested in seeing it from another angle. I personally prefer stencils and other types than spray – but that’s my view.

      Cheers.

      [:-]

      PS: Chill on the accusations – no reason to take it personal.
      PPS: Nice stencil you linked to.

      Reply
  • 3. I HATE VERBAL DIARHEA  |  April 12, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    .___ __ __
    ___.__. ____ __ __ __| _/____ _____/ |_ | | __ ____ ______ _ __
    < | |/ _ \| | \ / __ |/ _ \ / \ __\ | |/ // \ / _ \ \/ \/ /
    \___ ( <_> ) | / / /_/ ( <_> ) | \ | | <| | ( <_> ) /
    / ____|\____/|____/ \____ |\____/|___| /__| |__|_ \___| /\____/ \/\_/
    \/ \/ \/ \/ \/
    .__ .__ __ ___. __ __
    _____| |__ |__|/ |_ _____ \_ |__ ____ __ ___/ |_ _____ ________/ |_
    / ___/ | \| \ __\ \__ \ | __ \ / _ \| | \ __\ \__ \\_ __ \ __\
    \___ \| Y \ || | / __ \| \_\ ( <_> ) | /| | / __ \| | \/| |
    /____ >___| /__||__| (____ /___ /\____/|____/ |__| (____ /__| |__|
    \/ \/ \/ \/ \/

    Reply
  • 4. lisa forman  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I have to say, I flew from NYC to paris to see the TAG exhibit and I was so thrilled. It totally rocks! The curator did a spectacular job, and his introductory writing was mesmerizing, inspirational, and beautiful to read, exhalting the power and artistry of moving youth.

    Reply
    • 5. marcozna  |  May 6, 2009 at 6:52 pm

      Hi Lisa, thanks for the comment, great to see you enjoyed it. Am sure thousands liked it and it’s great to see some more views than just mine. Could you expand on your comment? I would like this post to be have some plus’ too!

      Cheers [;-]

      Reply
  • 6. lisa forman  |  May 7, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    the only expansion i would love to be able to do is post my photos which are beautiful, but it doesn’t seem like that is possible here.
    As a pro photographer, I was thrilled with the layout, the space, and the curator.
    It was the highlight of my trip to Paris, and I had read about this exhibit in the Times prior to my trip, so I was looking forward to being blown away by the artistry of the presentation.

    Reply
    • 7. marcozna  |  October 21, 2009 at 10:09 pm

      Hi Lisa, send me links to the photos and I can post them. You can also email me at my name at gmail.com

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 290,958 hits
Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Top Clicks

  • None

